Happy Independence Day USA

Saturday 4 July 2015

As I sit here in the morning, the first sip of coffee ringing a few bells in my body, I cannot help but think about the United States of America, because, of course, today is our independence day.

Now, we are not the only free nation in the world, but we pride ourselves on our liberty and our power, and as we move toward the last year before our next presidential election, I give personal – and selfish – thanks that I was born an American citizen.

The news has been full of heightened threat alerts, and I worry that people will die today, and be hurt, not only in acts of terror, but in the more ordinary day-to-day brutalities that assault us: traffic accidents, to name one of our perennial realities of life.

But I am still here, after sixty-some years of life, and although –

[-transmission terminated.]

Leave a Reply

